Island Safari in Koh Samui – Half Day Excursion

20 Mar

I usually hate this type of organized tours where you are pushed around like a monkey, but I wanted to visit Buddha’s Magic Garden and since it is remote this seemed like the way to do it. Hah.

1. Viewing point
What the…. Totally useless. Luckily one a five minute stop.

2.  The Mummified Monk
A dead monk with sunglasses and grey skin. Yay.

3. Elephant trekking
I did not really want to do this because I didn’t see the fun, but once you’re there and have the opportunity you think you ‘have to’. It was totally uncomfortable. We payed 300 BHT extra to get our picture taken (it was horrible, but that’s not the camera man’s fault I guess). At one point the elephant rider got off the elephant and asked if we wanted to get our photos taken with our own camera. That was the best part, but we still looked like idiots. Then the rider got back on and asked me to take a picture of him. I wondered what was the point, but tried to meet his wish. Then he said ‘No…!! I want money, for me.” We just looked at eachother and decided not to give him anything. We already payed for the trekking and the useless polaroid!

4. Elephant + monkey + crocodile show
Brilliant. The elephants are very amusing and they have personalities. The part of the tour I thought I’d dislike the most turned out the be the part I most appreciated. Here also they tried (and managed) to get money from the visitors if the visitors wanted to climb the elephant, or even pose next to it. 200 BHT please. They got a lot of money, at one point I thought that was the show.
The monkey show was boring, with a poor tied up monkey fetching coconuts.
The crocodile show was lengthy, and not very entertaining. I enjoyed watching the three men interact, but the crocodiles didn’t have to be there for my part.

 

5. Namuang Waterfalls
We have spectacular waterfalls in Norway so this did not do much for me. You could choose to take a bath in the cold waterfall at the bottom, but it was quite small, so when the six people that were occupying it left and there was room for our group we were already leaving. There was enough time for two beers (most expensive beer in Koh Samui at 60 BHT) and an ice cream, so that was a plus. I wish I would have arrived drunk to begin with.

6. Lunch at some private property
Bland Thai food. A woman asked us if we wanted juice or beer. We said beer, and then she said OK, and you have to pay for the beer please. OK. 60 BHT again so she was playing shop with us.

Then the tour guide asked us if we wanted to see one more temple and we didn’t know what to say, so we ended up not going. Why would you ask us at the end of the day? Later I realized I did want to see the temple; Wai Plai Laem, but oh well. The bad news happened when we then realized we weren’t going to Buddha’s Magic Garden. The guide said this wasn’t on the program. We showed him the program and he ran to his car and showed us another program (which did not include it). He said our program was two years old. Long story short, he wasn’t happy about the fact that we wanted to go back to the travel agent because she misinformed us, but we did and she gave us 400 BHT back which she claimed was her commission.

I hate organized tours.

5 Responses to “Island Safari in Koh Samui – Half Day Excursion”

  1. vevadoll March 21, 2012 at 12:37 am #

    Crocodiles, no thanks, that guy is crazy!

    • annie March 21, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

      He is, and the crocodiles were probably drugged. At one point he had his entire head in there. 😐

      • vevadoll March 21, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

        What the…

  2. andy1076 March 21, 2012 at 4:38 am #

    Beautiful photos, Not that I would ever go that close to a croc though lol! I’ve heard of these tourist traps myself. So sad considering the rich history and places to visit 😦

    • annie March 21, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 We considered renting a scooter to go see some stuff of our own, but at the end we were too scared to do so, because there’s about one fatal traffic accident a day in Koh Samui. And they drive on the wrong side of the road. I’m still a bit sad we didn’t get to go see the garden, cause I don’t think we’ll be going back there.

Leave a Reply

